What can I do to help you?

networking

One of the most effective business tools is networking.
According to the mother of all resources, Wikipedia,…”Business networking is a socioeconomic activity by which groups of like-minded businesspeople recognize, create, or act upon business opportunities. A business network is a type of social network whose reason for existing is business activity. Many businesspeople contend business networking is a more cost-effective method of generating new business than advertising or public relations efforts. This is because business networking is a low-cost activity that involves more personal commitment than company money.
As an example, a business network may agree to meet weekly or monthly with the purpose of exchanging business leads and referrals with fellow members. To complement this activity, members often meet outside this circle, on their own time, and build their own one-to-one relationship with the fellow member.
Business networking can be conducted in a local business community, or on a larger scale via the Internet. “
I was one of the first 50,000 people to join LinkedIn.  I joined because a friend asked me to so I could connect with him.  Thanks Ben!  But as the years went on, I realized how valuable a business tool it really was.  It allowed me to find the direct contact I was seeking, allowing me to avoid the gate keeper.
As I moved to Jacksonville, I learned how intense networking is in this town.  The Chamber of Commerce was the first place I went.  The Chamber has sub groups based on geography and business interest.  From there, I found individual groups and various organizations that have been created for networking.  There is a business that sets up a happy hour so the business community can meet up once a month.  While their intent was to increase their own business, the success of the event is seen in the numbers of people that attend each month.
In 2012, I set up my own cluster networking group to assist myself, and so I can assist others, with business leads.  Been an exciting adventure, as the group has moved to three different locations and have changed members here and there.  But is has become an effective source of business.
What I have learned is that there is great value in making relationships.  There are great rewards, financial and emotional, in providing people with a good business contact. I have helped people make their budgets, even make a million dollars.  As time has gone on, I have come to develop key connectors in many different business communities here in Jacksonville and around the country.  And a quick email can help someone else create business.  In turn, I am able to receive contact information on new prospects for myself to develop into business clients and add new additional to my business network.
The best way to nurture your network, or even use as an icebreaker at a networking event to a possible new network member, is to ask the following simple question….What can I do to help you?  It allows the other person to speak about themselves and gives you a chance to learn more about their business.  Hopefully, it also gives you an opportunity to help them, or at least add to, or develop, the relationship.  You will be amazed what can come out of this simple question.

With that, I ask the question out to you…..What can I do to help you?  Perhaps I have a contact that you are looking to meet.  Or there is an industry or business you want to network with.  Or, you need assistance with your marketing or social media.  I ask you to ask.  Ask me…I want to learn more about you and see how I can help you.  Look forward to seeing where this question leads.

About Enable Marketing and Media

Enable Marketing and Media is your marketing friend. We han help those businesses that are lost in the maze of social media and advertising. Who have customers but need to learn how to nurture them. Who are looking for ways to bring in even more customers. Call us for a free consultation 904-451-8252 or click www.enableyourmarketing.com “Howard on Google+
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment